NLCIO Charter‎ > ‎

NLCIO Historical Letter of Initiation

The following letter from John Peoples, Director of Fermilab, to the DOE Laboratory Directors on November 12, 1996, initiated the creation of SLCCC.

Dear Colleague,

On several occasions we have discussed the report to us regarding DOE Management of Computing and Information (July 27, 1995). We have also discussed forming a committee of Associate Director level computing experts (essentially those who prepared the report plus representatives of four additional labs) to advise us on a continuing basis on such matters and to interact with the DOE on our behalf. This group has developed a charter, which has in some fashion been discussed by them individually with many of us. A chair person has been chosen. The DOE's CIO (Woody Hall) and David Nelson in ER have indicated strongly that such a committee would be a very useful forum with which they could interact. In fact the CCIRDA committee which Nelson formed will be disbanded to make way for this new committee chartered by us.

Because of the role I took earlier in coordinating a letter from the Directors to Mr. Curtis, it appears to fall on me again to send the charter to the Chairman of this committee with our endorsement. I enclose a draft of that letter and a copy of the charter and the presently understood membership list. You should, of course, review your representation on this committee to be sure it is consistent with your present intentions.

There are a number of urgent issues that this group should address. These include the new Information Management Umbrella order which has just been issued which mandates 9 manuals that have not yet been developed, a new plan for unclassified computer security at the labs which looks to this committee for oversight, the attempts to reach a determination on what legislative and regulatory mandates in this area are applicable to the labs, and performance metrics for our contracts in this area.

Because of this urgency and the fact that I believe we are fundamentally in agreement on this charter, I believe we can move ahead on this with little formality. My office will check to make sure you have received this message. Although I would appreciate a reply, if I do not hear from you in a week (November 19), I will assume I have your concurrence and will proceed to send out the letter.

Very truly yours,

John Peoples


Draft of letter to David Leith, SLAC, Chair elect of the new committee.

Dear David,

The DOE Laboratory Directors wish to formally charge their advisory committee on computing and to encourage the group to start work on the computing and information processing issues of concern to our laboratories and, where appropriate, to work with DOE/HQ on matters of mutual interest.

We are pleased that the group has already worked on establishing representation for each institution and developed a specific charge (see attached) and a name "Systems of Laboratories Computer Coordinating Commitee" (SLCCC). We find these appropriate. Please proceed with calling the group together and begin work on this important arena for all of our laboratories.

SIGNED

John Peoples, Jr.
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
For the DOE National Laboratory Directors*

Encl. cc:

C. Curtis
M. Krebs
V. Reis
S. Hall
D. Nelson
G. Wiegand
*Lab Directors:
    Thomas J. Barton, Ames Laboratory
    Dean E. Eastman, Argonne National Laboratory
    Nicholas P. Samios, Brookhaven National Laboratory
    W.John Denson, Idaho National Engineering Laboratory
    Charles V. Shank, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
    C. Bruce Tarter, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
    Seigfried Hecker, Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Charles Gay, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
    Alan W. Trivelpiece, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    William J. Madia, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    Ronald C. Davidson, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
    Paul Robinson, Sandia National Laboratories
    Burton, Richter, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
    Hermann A. Grunder, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility

Proposed members of committee:

 

Ames Lab. Steve Elbert elbert@ameslab.gov
Argonne National Lab. Frank Fradin ffradin@anl.gov
Brookhaven National Lab. Martin Blume blume@bnl.gov
Fermi National Accelerator Lab. Tom Nash nash@fnal.gov
Idaho National Engineering Lab. .(to be determined)
Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. Bill McCurdy cwmccurdy@lbl.gov
Lawrence Livermore National Lab. Dave Cooper dcooper@llnl.gov
Los Alamos National Lab. Hassan Dayem had@lanl.gov
National Renewable Energy Lab. (to be determined)
Oak Ridge National Lab. Ed Oliver oliverce@ornl.gov
Pacific Northwest National Lab. Jerry Work gl_work@pnl.gov
Princeton Plasma Physics Lab. Ned Sauthoff sauthoff@pppl.gov
Sandia National Lab. Bill Camp
Pace VanDevender
wjcamp@sandia.gov
jpvande@sandia.gov
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center David Leith leith@slac.stanford.edu
Thomas Jefferson
National Accelerator Fac.
Roy Whitney whitney@cebaf.gov

Interested parties:

 

ERSUG Ricky Kendall ra_kendall@pnl.gov
ESSC Larry Price lprice@anl.gov
SCIE Roy Whitney whitney@cebaf.gov
DOE/ER Dave Nelson
John Cavallini
Ed Lewis
dave.nelson@oer.doe.gov
john.cavallini@oer.doe.gov
edgar.lewis@hq.er.doe.gov
DOE/DP Gil Weigand
Steve Berggren
gil.weigand@dp.doe.gov
Stephen.Berggren@mailgw.er.doe.gov
DOE/HR Woody Hall woody.hall@hq.doe.gov
Comments